Second Year

214 History – New Testament Survey


Greek word, ‘evangelion’ is translated as Gospel, which is an old English word meaning good news. Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John are the four Gospel accounts of the life of Jesus. The first three of these are usually referred to as the “synoptic gospels,” because they are similar. John is bit different.

Category: Tag:


Matthew and John witnessed Jesus’ ministry from its inception through His death and resurrection. Mark, a younger man present at least during the later events of Jesus’ life, was taught by the Apostle and eyewitness Peter. The Gospel according to Luke is a report by a doctor who was also meticulous historian. Luke no doubt learned from many of the other original eyewitnesses, among them Mary, the mother of Jesus.

Why, we might ask, are four Gospel accounts necessary? Furthermore, given differences among
them, doesn’t their very multiplicity imply that they negate one another?

The following is an important truth given to us by the prophet Moses. It was quoted or referred to numerous times in both the Old and New Testaments, and even by Jesus Himself Matthew 18:16… so that everything you say may be confirmed by two or three witnesses.

Deuteronomy 19:15 “You must not convict anyone of a crime on the testimony of only one witness.
The facts of the case must be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “214 History – New Testament Survey”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

General Inquiries

There are no inquiries yet.